Director Elections 2020

Police Legacy SA Logo

Attention Members,

Thank you to those who have nominated for the board director positions at SA Police Legacy. Four (4) elected Board positions are to be filled at the AGM and five (5) nominations have been received.

Sergeant Jodi-Lee Black, Glenn Thomson (retired) and Sergeant Samanda Attard have indicated their intention to re-nominate for the positions and two (2) new nominees are Chief Inspector Matthew Nairn and Brevet Sergeant Kayt Howe.

Voting for the board elections is open from Wednesday 21st October and closes at 5pm, Wednesday 28th October 2020.

To vote please click on this link:

To assist you with your vote please read each candidates bio below.


Sergeant Jodi-Lee Black (Elizabeth PS)

“I joined SAPOL in 1987 and moved quickly to country postings, where I served at Port Lincoln, Port Pirie, Coober Pedy, Peterborough, Hallett and Riverton until returning metro in 2004.  I have worked in Northern District as their Planner pretty much since then, minus a secondment with the AFP to the Solomon Islands in 2007/2008.

I was invited to join the Board of SA Police Legacy in 2012 after helping to organise a fund raiser for a sick colleague.  I have a passion for the work of Legacy and was voted in as Vice President in 2013.  I am actively involved in all aspects of the management and running of SA Police Legacy and have a desire to keep doing so”.

Glenn Thomson (retired)

“I have been a Board member of SA Police Legacy for 8 years, one year whilst still serving and 7 years whilst retired. I served with SA Police for just over 43 years.

Currently I am the only retired member on the SA Police Legacy Board.

During this time, I have been very active in representing SA Police Legacy serving on many and varied sub-committees, as well as being involved in making important decisions that have an impact on our members. I am passionate about our ability to assist all our members and my wish is to continue this work.

Your vote will allow me to do this and I ask that you consider voting for me”.

Sergeant Sam Attard (Victor Harbor PS)

“I commenced SAPOL in 1987 and am still an active operational officer. I have worked in areas of general patrols, internal investigation, anti-corruption branch, mounted operations, family violence and relieving supervisory in my current general patrol role. I have been a police legatee for the past 18yrs so I have experience in SA Police Legacy support services and benefits offered. I have 2 children who have also been assisted by SA Police Legacy over this period.

I am a good communicator and team player. I have the ability to create rapport across all sections of the community. I am a good problem solver and not afraid to try new ideas”.

Brevet Sergeant Kayt Howe (Stansbury PS)

“I first joined Queensland Police in 1989 and until 2012 served in the roles of patrol officer, Railway Squad patrol and investigations. I was promoted to Sergeant in 2001 and finishing with 7 years as a patrol Sergeant at Fortitude Valley. In 2012 I resigned from QPS and moved to South Australia where I joined SAPOL serving since then at Port Pirie, Hindley St, Transit Squad, OC at Marree (single officer) in the Far North and now as OC at Stansbury (single officer).

I passionately believe in supporting members and their families through difficult times. I am a persuasive speaker and advocate and I have experience in strategic planning. I have proven ability to work collaboratively and have demonstrated problem solving abilities”.

Chief Inspector Matthew Nairn (Eastern District)

I have worked for SAPOL for 35yrs and am currently the Operations Manager at Eastern District. I have a diverse background in supporting vulnerable people including being a member of the Don Dunstan Foundation (Adelaide Zero Project) aiming to significantly reduce homelessness with SA.  I am also a founding member of the National Wall to Wall police memorial ride which supports Police Legacy nationally.  Police Legacy is a wonderful organisation supporting all police nationwide and I am keen to participate as a Board member.

Please cast your vote using the link above.

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of SA Police Legacy Inc. will be held in the Fenwick Room, The Police Club, 27 Carrington Street, Adelaide, commencing at 4.30 pm on Monday, 16 November 2020. During the AGM the outcome of the Director Elections will be announced.

All SA Police Legacy members (serving or retired SA police officers) are welcome to attend and vote on the day.